Manage Role Access for Basic and Advanced Lists in Bulk (EAP)

When several lists are relevant to the same roles, you can use security roles to grant access to all of them at once. Everyone in the role receives the access, which saves time. See Security roles and tasks

If a user has at least one role that grants access, then they'll have access, regardless of their other roles.

Note: Bulk changes only add and update access to the selected lists. They don't remove existing access. To remove access, see Manage access for a specific basic or advanced list by role.

  1. Schools participating in the early adopter program (EAP) can use a "sneaky link" url to access a new experience for managing basic and advanced lists. When you join the EAP, save the link to your browser's bookmarks.

    A list of basic and advanced lists appears.

    Note: Not in the EAP? See basic lists and advanced lists instead.

  2. Select which Columns of data to show.

    Then Filter and sort the list.

    You can also search for specific lists.

  3. Select the lists. To select all, use the option in the row of column headers.

    A count of the selected lists appears.

  4. Select Manage role access.

  5. Use Search for roles to find security roles. Select the role from the results and then select + Add to roles. Repeat for each role you want to add.

    To view more roles, select Show all.

    A count of the roles appears.

  6. Under Roles, determine what the members of each role can do with the selected lists.

    • Run to use the lists to generate results.

    • Copy to use the lists as inspiration for other lists.

    • Edit to view, edit, and save the lists.

    • Manage to grant other users and roles access to the lists, and to view, edit, save, and delete them.

  7. To take a role out of the update before you save, select Delete.

    Any access they already have from before this update or from other roles will remain.

  8. Select Save.

    Roles that already have access to one of the selected lists keep that access, updated with your selections. Roles you added receive access to every selected list.

See Manage Basic and Advanced Lists and Security roles and tasks.

Tip: To grant access to users instead of by roles, see Manage user access for basic and advanced lists in bulk.