Creating and managing matches

Before Total School can sync changes between user profiles across connected platforms, it must know which user in one platform corresponds to a user in another.

Unlinked users appear under the Needs attention section on the Total School main page. They are organized into two lists by role:

  • Without a potential match

  • With potential matching records

These lists update daily to reflect the most current data.

When Total School is first enabled, you may see hundreds of unlinked profiles. As matches are created, this number will decrease. However, during high-activity periods—such as enrollment—the number of unlinked profiles may increase.

Creating matches

When creating matches, you either link multiple existing user records between platforms, or create a copy of an existing user from one platform into another platform with no user equivalent. Unmatched records appear in the Without a potential match and With potential matching records lists, organized by user role.

  • Without a potential match:

    No match was found based on your matching settings. You must manually link or clone the user.

  • With potential matching records:

    A possible match was found and needs your approval to complete the link.

To link existing users:

  1. Find a user in either list and open the context menu ().

  2. Select Match and merge.

  3. If no match is listed, enter a search term in the Search through potential matching records... field.

  4. Review any proposed matches.

    • If the match is correct, select the record and click Link and merge records.

    • If no match exists, select Add BEM record to RE to create a new user in the connected platform.

  5. Repeat these steps for all unmatched users.

 

Unlinking matches

Unlinking a match prevents the associated profiles from syncing across platforms.

To unlink a matched user:

  1. Go to the Total School page.

  2. Under the Total School Fundraising Summary, select View linked records.

  3. Find the user in the list and open the context menu ().

  4. Select Break link.

After unlinking, the user will reappear in the Without a potential match list under Needs attention within a few minutes.