Edit a Content Editor Group for Activities
A platform manager can update content editor groups for activities. Edit the group to change the group's name, editor memberships, sections, or access to content types.
-
Select Core.
-
Select Security.
-
Select Content editor access.
-
Select Activities. A list of editor groups appears. See Content editor access for activities.
-
Find the group in the list. On its row, select the ellipsis (...) for more actions.
-
Select Edit.
-
Enter your changes, including General information.
-
Enter a unique Group name.
-
For Add editors, search for and choose users. Then select + Add to editors.
The names of selected users appear in a grid, which also shows each user ID and their roles. See security roles.
-
Use Find in this list to search the grid.
-
To remove a user from this update, find their name and select Delete.
Warning: If the user already had access, they'll retain that access. This only omits them from the changes you are currently planning.
-
-
Select Next.
-
Enter Access information.
-
Select a School year.
-
Search for and select which sections the group should handle. Then select + Add to sections. The selected sections appear in a grid.
-
For each section's row, select Level of access. Then choose which types of content the group should edit. By default, groups have "Full access" to all content types, but you can limit them to fewer. To see the content types, select Show all. See content types.
-
-
Select Next.
-
For Review, confirm the group's information. To adjust the settings, return to General or Access and enter your changes.
-
Select Save & exit.
Note: When a user becomes a member of a content editor group, they automatically receive the content editor role. See security roles. When you delete a user from a group, they can retain the security role but may lose access to the specific content, audience and purpose the group handled. If a user is a member of multiple groups, with different access, the user's access is the maximum based on all their groups. If a user is no longer a member of any editor groups, then the security role is automatically removed. These role changes are logged in the user's role history.
Tip: Consider including content policies and responsibilities in your school's Policies and procedures guide.