Clone an Existing Role to Create a New Role

Platform managers can clone a security role to assign it to a user. When you clone the role, you can omit some of the tasks from the original role. However, you can't add additional roles to the clone.

Note: Clones of the platform manager can't impersonate non-clone-platform managers; they can't grant themselves additional security access. We recommend schools grant the platform manager role sparingly.

As a platform manager:

  1. Select Core.

  2. Select Security.

  3. Select Roles.

  4. Find the role in the list.

  5. Select the ellipsis (...) at the start of the row. Then select Clone role.

    Alternatively, select the role name. Then on the role's page, select Clone role.

  6. Enter a unique Role name for the new role.

  7. Select Tasks. A list appears.

  8. To view the status of all tasks, select the down arrows under Find in this list. The domains expand to show their corresponding tasks.

    • Tasks that are enabled for the role are indicated with a green check mark.

    • Select a task to view its details, including the name of the domain, a description of what the task enables users to see and do, and a list of other roles that have the task enabled.

    • To collapse the list of tasks, select the up arrows.

  9. To edit tasks in bulk:

    1. Select Edit tasks beside Find in this list.

    2. Select Enable all or Disable all.

    3. Expand the domains to see the tasks. A black check mark indicates when a task is enabled. Select a task to view its details, including the name of the domain, a description of what the task enables users to see and do, and a list of other roles that have the task enabled.

    4. Select or clear the checkboxes to enable or disable specific tasks.

    5. Select Save.

  10. To edit specific tasks:

    1. Search for a task or find it within a "domain" of related tasks. Select a task to view its details, including the name of the domain, a description of what the task enables users to see and do, and a list of other roles that have the task enabled.

    2. To remove a task from the clone, select Edit tasks under the task details. Clear the Enabled option. Then select Save.

    3. To re-enable a task you previously disabled, select Edit under the task details. Select Enabled and then select Save.

  11. Tell users to log out and then sign in again to see the changes associated with their role membership.

    We recommend describing new roles in your school's "policies and procedures" guide. If a role should be granted to additional users or removed from users at a later date, include this plan in your guide.

Note: Most employees who are responsible for keeping user profile data updated should have the contact card manager role instead of platform manager role (and its clones). Contact card managers can handle personal data common to any user (including contact information, demographics, relationships, emergency contacts, business, and education information). From Core, you can use the People finder to go to a user's profile and Contact card to make changes. From Core, Users, you can also select profile changes to review the changes users have made or that other administrators made on a user’s behalf.

Warning: Review release notes regularly. When features are updated or added, the original role may gain new tasks. Existing tasks may gain new functionality (such as a new button on an existing screen). Review your school's clones to enable or disable tasks based on those updates to ensure the clone has appropriate access.

Tip: To limit directory results by school level, campus location (for a school with multiple campuses), or other groupings, we recommend you create a clone of the "friend" role for each desired grouping. Then add users to the appropriate role. Finally, create a new directory or edit an existing one to use the new roles.