Authenticate through Apple

This social sign-in option uses your Apple ID for authentication requirements, password resets, and other support needs. This topic covers the following:

Prerequisite Considerations

To sign in through Apple, you must share your email address. When you create your Blackbaud Sign in with Apple account, select the option to share your email address. If you don't, Apple runs your email address through a private relay to anonymize it, and you can't access Blackbaud solutions or receive critical email from Blackbaud. If you hide the email address by mistake, see our instructions below to fix your Apple setup.

Turn On Apple Authentication

To authenticate through Apple:

  1. On the sign-in page, select Continue with Apple.

  2. On the page that explains the requirement to select Share My Email in your Apple settings, select Continue with Apple again.

  3. On Apple's sign-in page, provide your Apple credentials and follow the authentication steps.

    Warning: You must share your email address to authenticate through Apple. If you hide it by mistake, see our instructions below to fix your Apple setup.

  4. Access your Blackbaud solutions and resources to make sure your Blackbaud ID and organization are correct. To view details about your Blackbaud account, select your account under your initials in the top-level navigation.

Turn off Apple authentication

You can turn off Apple authentication at any time and sign in through Blackbaud's secure authentication service. You can use any type of email address with Blackbaud's service, including your Apple email address.

  1. On your Blackbaud profile, select the button beside Authentication details and then select Edit email address.

  2. On the Edit Blackbaud ID screen, select Disable Apple authentication.

  3. On the Disable social authentication screen, select Send confirmation code.

  4. Go to your Apple inbox and open the new email from Blackbaud Authentication Services about your Apple account.

  5. Copy the confirmation code.

  6. Back on the Disable social authentication screen, enter the code and select Confirm.

  7. On the updated Disable social authentication screen, enter a password for Blackbaud's service that meets the password requirements.

  8. Enter the password again to confirm it.

  9. Enter your first and last name. They are used to identify you in the Blackbaud ecosystem.

  10. Select Confirm. This signs you in through Blackbaud's service and returns you to your Blackbaud profile.

You can change authentication details, such as your email address, password, and authentication method, as necessary.

Can't sign in through Apple?

When you create your Blackbaud Sign In With Apple account using your Apple ID, you must select the Apple option to share your email address. If you don't, Apple hides your email address and runs it through a private relay to anonymize it. This prevents Blackbaud from associating your Blackbaud ID with your actual email address, and you can't access Blackbaud solutions or receive critical email from Blackbaud.

If you hide your email address at any point in your Apple settings, Blackbaud prompts you to share it the next time you sign in. The steps to follow just depend on the prompt that appears.

Prompted to stop using Apple?

A Looks like your email is hidden prompt with an Apple ID Management button indicates that you need to update your Apple settings and then sign in again through Blackbaud.

In rare cases, a Your Blackbaud ID is blocked prompt indicates that you need to take the same steps because hiding your email address created duplicate accounts for the same email address.

For both prompts, follow these steps to regain access to your account:

  1. Update your Apple settings to stop using Sign in with Apple for Blackbaud.

    1. On the Apple ID management page, select the Sign in with Apple tile.

    2. For each Blackbaud entry in your list of connections, select Stop using Sign in with Apple and then select Stop Using on the confirmation prompt.

  2. Set up your Blackbaud ID again to sign in through Apple and share your email address.

    1. On Blackbaud's sign-in page, select Continue with Apple.

    2. On the page that explains that you need to share your email address, select Continue with Apple again, which redirects you to Apple's sign-in page.

    3. Complete Apple's steps again, and make sure to select Share my Email.

Prompted to change your email address?

A Looks like your email is hidden prompt with a Help me change my email address button indicates that you need update your Blackbaud settings to stop using Apple sign in and then sign in again.

  1. On the Looks like your email is hidden prompt, select Help me change my email address.

  2. On Apple's sign-in page, provide your credentials and then select Continue when asked whether to continue with Blackbaud.

  3. On the Disable social authentication screen, enter your email address and select Send confirmation code.

  4. Go to your inbox and open the new email from Blackbaud Authentication Services about your Apple account.

  5. Copy the confirmation code.

  6. Back on the Disable social authentication screen, enter the code and select Confirm.

  7. On the updated Disable social authentication screen, enter a password for Blackbaud's service that meets the password requirements.

  8. Enter the password again to confirm it.

  9. Enter your first and last name. They are used to identify you in the Blackbaud ecosystem.

  10. Select Confirm. This signs you in through Blackbaud's authentication service.

  11. On the Disconnect your Apple ID prompt, select the acknowledgement checkbox and then select Confirm. This returns you to your Blackbaud profile.

  12. To switch back to signing in through Apple, sign out and then return to Blackbaud's sign-in page.

  13. Select Continue with Apple.

  14. On the page that explains that you need to share your email address, select Continue with Apple again. This redirects you to Apple's sign-in page.

  15. Complete Apple's steps again, and make sure to select Share My Email.