Cancel Group Reservations
In some situations, you may need to cancel a group reservation. You can cancel reservations that have already been fully or partially paid, as well as reservations that have not made any payments.
For example, a group may cancel their plans after submitting a deposit. If a payment has been received and applied to a reservation, the reservation cannot be deleted. Instead, you must cancel the reservation, which changes the order status to “Canceled,” releases reserved tickets back into inventory, makes reserved locations and non-consumable resources available again, and adds consumable resources back to inventory. Additionally, any staffing resources and the associated jobs assigned to the resources remain on the canceled reservation but are inactive and do not affect scheduling.
Warning: Canceling a reservation does not remove, refund, or affect the payments applied to the reservation in any way. Refunding payments applied to a group reservation is a separate process. For more information, see Refunds for Group Sales Reservations.
Note: If a reservation has been created in error or a group wants to cancel their plans before a payment has been made, you must first cancel the reservation before you can delete it. For more information, see Delete Group Reservations.
-
From Sales, select Group sales.
-
On the calendar, select a current reservation that has not been checked in. On the action bar, select Go to reservation.
-
Under Tasks, select Cancel reservation.
-
To continue, select Yes. The reservation is canceled and any tickets and locations booked as part of the reservation are released back into inventory. Additionally, any booked non-consumable resources are available again and consumable resources are added back to inventory. If applicable, staffing resources and the associated jobs assigned to the resources remain on the canceled reservation but are inactive.
Note: You can also cancel a reservation directly from On the calendar, select the reservation to cancel and on the action bar, select Cancel reservation.
Note: The Reservation summary now displays a status of “Canceled” and the Order history tab displays the date and time of the cancellation. Additionally, you can add notes to the Documentation tab on the reservation even after it is canceled.
Tip: If needed, you can still copy a reservation after it has been canceled. For more information, see Copy Group Reservations. For example, if the group decides they can use the reservation after it has been canceled, you can copy there old reservation to create a new one.