Edit an Employee's Existing Employment

A platform manager (with task ID 510) can update a user's employment, including their roles, departments, sports, and which classifications they handle.

Core Profile: Access

One way to do this is from the user's profile.

  1. From Core, use the People finder to choose the individual you want to work with and then select the Access tab.

  2. From the Access tab of the user's profile, find the Employment tile and then select Edit employment.

  3. Enter your changes.

    Tip: If you enter employment changes for a Future date and time, the changes will appear as "Pending" after you Save.

  4. Select Save .

Employees List

Another way to do this is via the Employees list (with task ID 55592). Consider this option if you're already reviewing employment data in bulk, such as when the academic year changes.

Note: Need to employ an existing user? See Add Employment for a User. Need a new user? Go to your Core home page and select Add a new user (under Tasks). See Add a user.

  1. Go to Core.

  2. Select Users.

  3. Select Employees list.

    A list of current users with employment data appears. Choose which Columns of data to show, then Filter and sort the list.

  4. Search the list to find a specific user.

  5. From the employee's row, select the ellipsis (...), and then select Edit employment.

  6. For General, you'll enter basic information about the employee's access.

  7. Determine when the employment should begin: Immediately or a Future date and time.

  8. Enter a Date appointed for Tenure. This doesn't affect the user's access, but it does affect reports and directories. This information appears in affinity categories.

  9. If you know when employment should end, enter Withdraw information. See withdraw employees.

    • When you withdraw employment, you'll determine whether the change should be effective Immediately or on a custom date and time in the future.

    • When employment is withdrawn, the user's employee roles are updated to "Past" versions and they lose access to current roles.

    • To revoke the user's access to log in, even using their "Past" role access, select Disable user's account.

      This disables their account in Education management. However, it doesn't immediately disable their Blackbaud ID (BBID), since they might use the same username (email address) to access other Blackbaud solutions (such as Raiser's Edge NXT) at your organization or a different organization.

      Note: Withdrawn employees who retain login access can continue to serve as community group leaders, which helps maintain connections with alums. For example, a "Past Coach" might remain involved in a community group. After withdrawing an employee, review your community groups and update leadership as needed. To withdraw past employees from their groups, go to the Groups tab of the user's Core profile. Some groups may also need new leaders.

  10. Choose which Employee roles to give the user. The roles available may vary based on the capabilities installed for your school. For details see security roles and tasks.

  11. Choose the School levels the employee is associated with. The school level affects which official notes they can see.

  12. Scroll up and select Departments. Then select the academic and non-academic departments the user should belong to.

  13. For each department, select whether the user is a Member or Chair.

    This adds the employee to the faculty directory and affects course recommendations access.

  14. Scroll up and select Classifications .

    This also adds the user to the faculty directory but doesn't affect their access to student information.

  15. If Athletics is installed, then scroll up and select Sports. Then select which sports the user is associated with. They're organized by seasons.

    This adds the user to the athletic faculty directory, which may appear on your school website. They'll still need a coach or trainer security role to manage athletic teams. For details see Security Roles and Tasks.

  16. Select Save.