Withdraw Employees

Platform managers can withdraw employees.

Withdrawing employees moves the user to the Past Faculty or Past Staff role so they no longer have current faculty or staff access. However, they can retain access to log in or even lead community groups.

Tip: If an employee still works at your school, but their job title or responsibilities have changed, update their roles instead of withdrawing them. To edit a user's employment, see manage employment

Withdraw an Individual Employee

  1. From Core, use the People finder to choose the individual you want to work with and then select the Access tab.

  2. From the Access tab of the user's profile, find the Employment tile and then select Edit employment.

  3. For General, enter basic information about the employee's access.

    Scroll to Withdraw.

  4. Select whether the change should be effective Immediately or on a custom date and time in the future.

    Note: When employment is withdrawn, the user's employee roles are updated to "Past" versions and they lose access to current roles.

  5. To revoke the user's access to log in, even using their "Past" role access, select Disable user's account.

    This disables their account in Education management. However, it doesn't immediately disable their Blackbaud ID (BBID), since they might use the same username (email address) to access other Blackbaud solutions (such as Raiser's Edge NXT) at your organization or a different organization.

  6. Enter any additional changes.

  7. Select Save .

Withdraw Employment in Bulk

  1. Go to Core.

  2. Select Users.

  3. Select Employees list.

    A list of current users with employment data appears. Choose which Columns of data to show, then Filter and sort the list. Search the list to find a specific user or users with specific data.

  4. On each employee's row, select the checkbox. A count appears at the bottom of the list.

  5. Select Withdraw employees. The selected employees appear in a grid.

  6. Select whether the change should be effective Immediately or on a custom date and time in the future.

    Note: When employment is withdrawn, the user's employee roles are updated to "Past" versions and they lose access to current roles.

  7. To revoke the user's access to log in, even using their "Past" role access, select Remove access.

    This disables their account in Education management. However, it doesn't immediately disable their Blackbaud ID (BBID), since they might use the same username (email address) to access other Blackbaud solutions (such as Raiser's Edge NXT) at your organization or a different organization.

  8. Select Apply changes to handle the selected employees in bulk. Then use the grid to adjust details for individuals. For example, enable one employee to stay longer or retain their access, while others are immediately withdrawn and revoked.

  9. Select Save.

Update Groups

After withdrawing an employee, review your community groups and update leadership as needed.

"Past" employees (such as a Past Coach) who retain access to log in can remain involved in community groups. This ensures retired employees can stay involved.

To remove "past" employees from their groups, go to the Groups tab of the user's Core profile. Some groups may also need new leaders.

Remove "Past" Employee/Volunteer Roles

When a user has an employee/volunteer role ( and their employment is withdrawn, their user is automatically assigned a “Past” version of the role, even if their login access is disabled.

You can remove these “Past” roles. You'll most likely do this onboarding and offboarding of employees, when troubleshooting or testing, or while performing data cleanup. For example, you can correct a user's employment history or remove access that might be lingering from the past employee/volunteer roles’ tasks.

Platform managers (and other users with access to manage roles) can do this from Core, Security, Roles. Find the past role in the list and select the # of members on its row. Next, select Members and find the user in the list. Then select More (...), Remove, and confirm the change. For details, refer to security roles and tasks.

When you remove a user’s membership from a past employee/volunteer role, a record of their previous access is saved to the user’s role history.

Note: This also enables an admin to change a specific part of the employment without undoing all the employment changes.

Disable Former Employee with Another Identity Provider IdP.

When a staff member departs your school, disable the former employee's account on your Identity Provider IdP.

This makes the email address unavailable to the former employee and the account can be completely deactivated in the future.

However, for some situations, you may not want to disable the account, but rather change the password, such as if you need the replacement staff to have ongoing access to the departed user's inbox. This is acceptable as long as the former user did not link any other organizations to the Blackbaud ID account.

See Troubleshooting Blackbaud ID.

Note: By default, past faculty and past staff retain access to their groups. Remember to withdraw employees from groups when they leave your school. From Core, use the People finder to go to a faculty member's user profile . Then select Groups and edit the members list for each group. Some groups may also need new leaders.

See Manage employment.